It’s been a busy couple weeks, to say the least. In addition to kicking off my LLS Man of the Year campaign, I’ve had the opportunity to applaud my fellow Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage agents at our annual awards celebration, spend a weekend in Los Angeles with our three beautiful children and celebrate our daughter’s 21st birthday, and attend the Coldwell Banker Generation Blue national conference in New Orleans.

It was a wonderful convention with attendees from all over the world. On the first day, there was a leadership meeting to which all of our company presidents were invited. I had the opportunity to introduce them to LLS and the Man and Woman of the Year competition by playing the video we created, which I hope you’ve had a chance to see! 

Frankly, I was caught off guard by my own emotions as it was played before the group and I was humbled when it earned a heart felt applause from these great leaders at the conclusion.  I was aware before the video played that nearly everyone in the room, as is so often the case today in our world, would have a story about how they or someone they know has been affected by Luekemia or Lymphoma. Given this fact, my deep sense of purpose for this campaign intensified. Crazy intense!!!!

After a great dinner that evening, we all gathered early for breakfast the next morning. I knew many of the attendees well and many of my colleagues who had seen the LLS video the day before were there. As with most breakfast meetings, there was a lot of networking going on. Per the custom, I was making my rounds, saying hi to those I knew and introducing myself and getting to know many that I hadn’t known previously.

One of our presidents, who I don’t know very well, approached me with tears in her eyes. Frankly, I didn’t know why she was crying.  Through a quivering voice, she said, “Thank you so much for what you are doing.”  Honestly, I was a little confused. I smiled awkwardly, and asked, “What am I doing?” She replied, “What you are doing for LLS.  I lost two people very close to me to Leukemia. One was my brother. ” Instinctively, I hugged her and said “I am so sorry.” Inside, I was heart broken. Those were all the words that were spoken and she went back to her table. I was overwhelmed, to say the least.

A thought that I have shared with many over the last few years that has changed my life dramatically is the thought that the actions we either take or don’t take, positive or negative, impact not only our lives but, perhaps more importantly, the lives of others around us. Our spouses, our children, our friends, co-workers, acquaintances and strangers. While I am highly cognisant of this every day of my life, there are days when the realization becomes magnified dramatically. That was one of those days.

When I said yes to this endeavor several weeks ago, I was very motivated to succeed in a very big way. Today, after hearing more and more stories like this, my passion for this campaign and LLS has grown exponentially. It’s crazy, but it is a good crazy. 

And I want to once again share the video we created, in case you haven’t had a chance to see it.

Stay tuned….

