I’d like to kick this blog off with a few words about the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Man of the Year competition and why I chose to accept the nomination.

When the idea was first brought to my attention, I was interested almost immediately. I’ve long been a supporter of various local charitable organizations and feel that, as a longtime member of the Sacramento community, it’s important to give back. 

Working in real estate for more than 20 years, I’ve developed close relationships with many Sacramentans and have come to know their stories. That is how I’ve learned just how many lives have been touched by leukemia, lymphoma and other blood-related cancers. Whether family, friend or co-worker, many in our community have been greatly affected by these devastating diseases.

That’s what I appreciate most about the Man of the Year competition. Every dollar my fellow candidates and I raise will go directly to the Sacramento chapter of LLS and help those who have been affected blood cancers. Every dollar that is donated on my behalf equals one vote. That’s one vote for me to be named the LLS Sacramento Chapter Man of the Year. But more importantly, that is one more dollar that goes toward blood cancer research and to one day finding a cure.

This year’s slogan for the Man of the Year competition is “Be Relentless” – two words that truly resonate with me. Whether it’s in business, on the road training for my next marathon, or doing what I can to help others, that’s what I am…relentless. Relentless to succeed.

Over the next several weeks, my support team and I will be doing our best to raise as much money as possible for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. We’ll be using this blog to share our stories, information about upcoming fundraising events, how you can help, and much more.

I thank you in advance and I know that with your support, we can make a difference in the fight for a cure. We just need to be…relentless.

